About Us

The Centre for Railway Research (CRR) was set up at Indian Institute of Technology Madras based on MoU signed between the Government of India, Ministry of Railways and the Indian Institute of Technology Madras on 22.12.2015. The objective being to develop a long – term framework for research collaboration. With growth in Indian Economy, Indian Railways Transport business is expected to grow at an average rate of 10% per annum. To achieve this phenomenal growth Indian Railways considered it necessary to make use of the technological advancements in the field of Railway Technology as technology plays a major role not only in improving the quality of service but also in productive utilization of the rail infrastructure, improving safety and reducing cost.

The CRR functions as per the guidelines and monitoring of Apex Steering Committee and Program Advisory Committee (PAC).

Focus Areas

As per letter no. SRESTHA – PMU/23/CRR/General dated 04/08/2017, Ministry of Railways has assigned some specific Research domains for co-ordination of each CRR with an objective to provide more focused approach. The Nodal CRR shall take lead in the assigned research domain and shall also anchor it. However, a CRR can also work in other Research Domain in collaboration with the Nodal CRR for that domain. As per the above distribution IITM is the Nodal CRR for following Research Domains.


Signal and Communication


Condition Monitoring


Predictive Maintenance


For execution and implementation of the MoU APEX Steering Committee (ASC) and Program Advisory Committee (PAC) have been constituted vide RDSO letter no.R2/294/CRR/Rly. Budget dt 05.08.2016. The committees comprise of the following members:

APEX Steering Committee (ASC):

  1. Director General, RDSO, Lucknow (Chairman)
  2. Director, IIT/ Madras (Co – Chairman)
  3. Pr.Executive Director (HR), Railway Board (Member)
  4. Dean (IC&SR), IIT/ Madras (Member – Local Convener)
  5. Prof. Prabhu Rajagopal Dept of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Madras (Member)
  6. ED/ Finance, RDSO, Lucknow (Member)
  7. ED/ Research, RDSO, Lucknow (Member)
  8. ED/ E&R, Railway Board, New Delhi (Member)

Program Advisory Committee (PAC):

  1. Addl. Director General, RDSO, Lucknow (Chairman)
  2. Dean (IC&SR), IIT/ Madras (Co- Chairman)
  3. Prof. Benny Raphael, Dept. of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras (Member)
  4. Prof. Balaji Srinivasan, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras (Member)
  5. CEO/CRR, (Member – Local Convener)
  6. ED/Telecom, RDSO, Lucknow (Member)
  7. Director Research/ S&T, RDSO, Lucknow (Member & Joint Secretary – Convener)
  8. Director /Finance , RDSO, Lucknow (Member)